The Cremaster Cycle (1994-2002) Matthew Barney

The Cremaster Cycle (1994-2002)
Genre: Arthouse | Experimental | Musical | Drama
Country: USA | Director: Matthew Barney
Language: Music | Subtitles: No need

Cremaster 1 (1996) 
Aspect ratio: 1.33:1 | Length: 40mn
Dvdrip H264 Mkv - 720x544 - 29.970fps - 723mb
Cremaster 2 (1999) 
Aspect ratio: Widescreen 1.85:1 | Length: 79mn
Dvdrip H264 Mkv - 1024x550 - 29.970fps - 1.52gb
Cremaster 3 part 1 (2002) 
Aspect ratio: Widescreen 1.85:1 | Length: 93mn
Dvdrip H264 Mkv - 1024x580 - 23.976fps - 1.72gb

Cremaster 3 part 2 (2002) 
Aspect ratio: Widescreen 1.85:1 | Length: 87mn
Dvdrip H264 Mkv - 1024x580 - 23.976fps - 1.61gb

Cremaster 4 (1994) 
Aspect ratio: 1.33:1 | Length: 42mn
Dvdrip H264 Mkv - 720x544 - 29.970fps - 723mb
Cremaster 5 (1997) 
Aspect ratio: Widescreen 1.85:1 | Length: 54mn
Vhsrip H264 Mkv - 866x472 - 29.970fps - 734mb
Cremaster 1:
Cremaster 2:
Cremaster 3:
Cremaster 4:
Cremaster 5:

The Cremaster Cycle is a series of five feature-length films, together with related sculptures, photographs, drawings, and artist's books, created by American visual artist and filmmaker Matthew Barney.

The Cremaster Cycle was made over a period of eight years (1994–2002) and culminated in a major museum exhibition organized by Nancy Spector of the Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum in New York City, which traveled to the Museum Ludwig in Cologne and the Musée d'art Moderne in Paris from 2002-03. Barney's longtime collaborator Jonathan Bepler composed and arranged the soundtracks for the films.

 Gugenheim Museum curator Nancy Spector has described the Cremaster cycle (1994–2002) as "a self-enclosed aesthetic system." The cycle includes the films as well as photographs, drawings, sculptures, and installations the artist produced in conjunction with each episode. Its conceptual departure point is the male cremaster muscle, the primary function of which is to raise and lower the testes in response to temperature.

The project is filled with anatomical allusions to the position of the reproductive organs during the embryonic process of sexual differentiation: Cremaster 1 represents the most "ascended" or undifferentiated state, Cremaster 5 the most "descended" or differentiated.

The cycle repeatedly returns to those moments during early sexual development in which the outcome of the process is still unknown — in Barney's metaphoric universe, these moments represent a condition of pure potentiality. As the cycle evolved over eight years, Barney looked beyond biology as a way to explore the creation of form, employing narrative models from other realms, such as biography, mythology, and geology.

The films were not made in numerical order (1–5), but rather in the order 4, 1, 5, 2, 3 – precisely, 4 in 1994, 1 in 1995, 5 in 1997, 2 in 1999, 3 in 2002. The numerical order is the thematic order, while in order of production the films increase in production quality and ambition, and they can alternatively be viewed in any order, as different views of a set of themes and preoccupations.

The films are significantly different in length; the longest (and last-made) is #3, at over 3 hours, while the remaining four are approximately 1 hour each, for a total of approximately 7 hours – #3 itself is almost half the total length. There is precious little dialog in any of the films; only #2 features significant dialog

If you enjoy this blog, you can support it by buying a NITROFLARE premium account from the links above. For just a few bucks, you will get full speed and unlimited downloads from a great filehost. If you find a dead link, just leave a com and I'll try to fix it as soon as possible. Cheers.

2 Response to "The Cremaster Cycle (1994-2002) Matthew Barney"

  1. If you could find a copy of Barney's Drawing Restraint 9, that would be killer.

    I love this blog so much..thank you for all the hard work you put into it...I wish I could find something amazing for you to watch..

Post a Comment